DEPTH FIELD

SOLO DANCE PERFORMANCE WITH INSTALLATION

Konzept, Installation, Choreografie und Tanz : Emi Miyoshi

Videoinstallation und Fotos : Marc Doradzillo

Musik : Ephraim Wegner, Jad Fair, Tenniscoats & Norman Blake, Autechre und world's end girlfriend

Licht : Natalie Stark

Produktionsassistent: Katharina de Andrade Ruiz

Dramaturgische Unterstützung : Emma-Louise Jordan

Bühnenassistenz : Lisa Klingelhöfer

Pressearbeit : Christine Eyssel

Produktion : SHIBUI Kollektiv

 

In Kooperation mit E-WERK Freiburg

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Kulturamtes der Stadt Freiburg, des Landesverbandes Freie Tanz- und Theatererschaffende Baden-Württemberg eV aus Mitteln des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg und der Landesbank Baden-Württemberg Stiftung .

 

 

PRESSE:  Kultur-Joker

     badische Zeitung

     Sonntagszeitung

Ort

E-WERK FREIBURG

Deutschland

PREMIERE

14. März 2019 DO 20:30 Uhr

Weitere Aufführung: 15. März, 16. März, 17. März und 18.03

06.(FR) - 07.(SA). 2019. jeweils 20 UHR

Landesmuseum Stuttgart

07.11.2020(SA) Dance Dates E-WERK Freiburg 

27.01.2021(Mi) TANZ TAUSCH Festival Köln

11.(DO) - 12.(FR).2021 Theater ROXY Basel

Year

2019

Nach den beiden großen Produktionen IN MY ROOM (2017) – ausgezeichnet mit dem Stuttgarter Tanz- und Theaterpreis – und A HOUSE (2018) kehrt die in Freiburg lebende japanische Tänzerin und Choreografin Emi Miyoshi mit DEPTH OF FIELD zurück zur Minimalform. Anknüpfend an ihre erste Soloarbeit SINKING FLOAT (2003) begegnet die Tänzerin in ihrem aktuellen Stück den eigenen Wurzeln neu und kreiert ein choreografisches Tableau aus fernöstlicher und westlicher Ästhetik. Im Mittelpunkt steht der ewige Kreislauf des Lebens, die beständige Auf- und Abwärtsbewegung, mit der alles Lebendige voranschreitet.

»Depth of Field« bezeichnet in der Fotografie die Tiefenschärfe, den Bereich, innerhalb dessen ein Objekt scharf abgebildet wird. Licht und Schatten kommt hierbei eine zentrale Bedeutung zu. Indem Emi Miyoshi durch Ein- und Ausblenden den Blick des Publikums abwechselnd auf sie selbst, einzelne Körperpartien oder die Bühneninstallation lenkt, lädt sie die Zuschauer ein, ihr Innerstes zu entdecken.

Mit ihrem aktuellen Stück wagt Emi Miyoshi nach 15 Jahren ein Remake ihres Erstlingswerks SINKING FLOAT, motiviert durch neu gewonnene Einblicke in ihre eigene kulturelle Identität und die in ihrer spartenübergreifenden Tanzarbeit gemachten Erfahrungen der Wechselwirkung zwischen den Künsten.

DEPTH FIELD

SOLO DANCE PERFORMANCE WITH INSTALLATION

Concept, installation, choreography and dance: Emi Miyoshi

Video installation and photos: Marc Doradzillo

Music: Ephraim Wegner, Jad Fair, Tenniscoats & Norman Blake, Autechre and world's end girlfriend

Light: Natalie Stark

Production assistant: Katharina de Andrade Ruiz

Dramaturgical support: Emma-Louise Jordan

Stage assistant: Lisa Klingelhöfer

Press work: Christine Eyssel

Production: SHIBUI collective

 

In cooperation with E-WERK Freiburg

 

With the kind support of the Cultural Office of the City of Freiburg, the Landesverband Freie Tanz- und Theatererschaffende Baden-Württemberg eV with funds from the Ministry of Science, Research and Art of the State of Baden-Württemberg and the Landesbank Baden-Württemberg Foundation.

 

 

PRESS: Culture joker

       badish newspaper

       Sunday newspaper

Location

E-WERK FREIBURG

Germany

PREMIERE

March 14th, 2019 THU 8:30 PM

Further performance: March 15, March 16, March 17 and 18.03

06(FR) - 07/12(SA). 2019. 8 PM each

State Museum Stuttgart

07.11.2020(SA) Dance Dates E-WERK Freiburg 

27.01.2021(Wed) TANZ TAUSCH Festival Cologne

11.(DO) - 12.(FR).2021 Theater ROXY Basel

Year

2019

After the two major productions IN MY ROOM (2017) - awarded the Stuttgart Dance and Theater Prize - and A HOUSE (2018), the Japanese dancer and choreographer Emi Miyoshi, who lives in Freiburg, is returning to minimal form with DEPTH OF FIELD. Following on from her first solo work SINKING FLOAT (2003), the dancer encounters her own roots anew in her current piece and creates a choreographic tableau of Far Eastern and Western aesthetics. The focus is on the eternal cycle of life, the constant upward and downward movement with which all living things advance.

In photography, “Depth of Field” describes the depth of field, the area within which an object is sharply depicted. Light and shadow are of central importance here. As Emi Miyoshi alternately directs the audience's gaze to herself, individual parts of the body or the stage installation by fading in and out, she invites the audience to discover their innermost being.

With her current piece, Emi Miyoshi dares to remake her debut work SINKING FLOAT after 15 years, motivated by newly gained insights into her own cultural identity and the experiences of the interaction between the arts in her interdisciplinary dance work.